Skip to main content Skip to footer


The governance of the UK Clean Air programme encompasses a number of different bodies which undertake different roles.

Programme Board

The Programme Board is responsible for providing the strategic direction for the programme, the delivery of the programme’s objectives and is the ultimate decision-making authority for the programme. It comprises the programme’s delivery partners as follows:

  • UKRI-NERC (co-Chair)
  • Met Office (co-Chair)
  • UKRI-Innovate UK
  • Defra

and the National Physical Laboratory.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides strategic advice to the Programme Board in support of the programme’s objectives. Its membership is as follows:

  • Prof. Tom Woolley, Rachel Bevan Architects (Chair)
  • Prof. Chris Whitty, Department of Health & Social Care (Chief Scientific Advisor (CSA))
  • Dr Ursula Wells, Department of Health & Social Care (representing Prof. Chris Whitty)
  • Prof. Sarah Sharples, Department for Transport (CSA)
  • Dr John Newington, Defra (CSA representative)
  • Dr Sarah Moller, Defra (CSA representative)
  • Dr Matt Hort, Met Office
  • Prof. Alastair Lewis, University of York
  • Alex Minshull, Bristol City Council
  • Prof. Helen ApSimon, Imperial College London
  • Prof. John Cherrie, Heriot-Watt University
  • Prof. Sir Stephen Holgate, University of Southampton (Champion team)
  • Prof. Frank Kelly, Imperial College London
  • Roger Herbert, Welsh Government (CSA representative)
  • Andrew Taylor, Scottish Government (CSA representative)
  • Prof. Catherine Noakes, University of Leeds
  • Prof. Nicola Carslaw, University of York
  • Nadia Echchihab, Global Commercial Team Lead, Connected Places
  • Dr Stuart Capstick, Cardiff University
  • Amy Holmes, DAERA
  • Dr Sefi Roth, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Dr Karen Exley, Public Health England

Other attendees may be invited as appropriate to the discussions including further representatives from the programme delivery partners and the Clean Air Champion team.


The Secretariat, based at NERC Head Office, provides administrative support to the Programme Board and Steering Committee.

Recent tweets from @UK_CleanAir

Twitter feed is not available at the moment.